Local educator Jeremy Patterson to receive 2024 Dr. Martin Luther King Award

November 21, 2023

Jackson College is pleased to announce the winner of the 2024 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Medal of Service Award will be Jeremy Patterson, longtime educator and coach in the Jackson community.

Patterson is passionate about education, inspiring young minds and building a better community. Working with Jackson Public Schools for more than 20 years, he’s been an elementary teacher, high school teacher and coach, high school assistant principal, elementary principal, and middle school principal. He currently serves as the Assistant Superintendent, Secondary Curriculum. He is a proud graduate of Jackson High, Class of 1993.

“I get to partner with all of my happy places. I absolutely love Jackson Public Schools as an alumni, parent, teacher, principal, and now in my current role.”

Patterson works with young people in the community as a volunteer with Jackson Parks and Recreation, as a gym supervisor, leading an instructional basketball league for kindergarten through third grade, officiating fourth-sixth grade basketball, and putting on a basketball camp for elementary-aged children.

Patterson has partnered with Jackson College through two programs to provide even more opportunities for middle school students, the Men of Merit and Sisters of Strength eighth-grade leadership program and the Black History Month Academic Excellence Celebration.

For his service and inspiration to others, Patterson is being recognized. “I’m very grateful to be recognized. I’ve absolutely loved partnering with Jackson College and providing opportunities for JPS students.”

Jeremy and his wife, Jill, have four children (Noah, Alexandra, Javen and Ryan). He is a member of St. John’s the Evangelist Parish in Jackson, MI, The Knights of Columbus: Council #9301, Michigan Elementary & Middle School Principals Association President 2017-‘18, United Way of Jackson Board Member and served on the National Association of Elementary School Principal’s National Diversity Task Force.