President Phelan appointed to national PTK board

January 8, 2016

Jackson College President Dr. Daniel J. Phelan has been appointed to serve on the Board of Directors of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Phelan was appointed to fill the College Administrators Representative position recently vacated by Dr. Walter Bumphus, president and chief executive officer of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC). His appointment can then be renewed for a three-year term in April.

Phelan is Chair-Elect of the Board of Directors for AACC, Co-Chair of AACC’s Higher Education Act Reauthorization Task Force, and Chair-Elect of the Higher Education Research and Development Institute (HERDI). He also serves as a board member for the Center for Community College Student Engagement (CCCSE) and has served on AACC’s 21st Century Commission on the Future of Community Colleges.

Phelan holds a Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from Iowa State University, an M.B.A from St. Ambrose University and both a B.A. in Business Administration and an associate degree in liberal arts from Mount St. Clare College (now Ashford University). He has been honored as the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) CEO of the Year for the Central Region and as a Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction award winner for his support of Phi Theta Kappa.

According to Phi Theta Kappa’s Constitution, the two-year college administrator to the Board of Directors is elected by the Executive Committee (International Officers) from recommendations made to the Executive Director by the active chapter advisors. The decision to appoint Phelan was unanimous. As a first-generation college student, Phelan has said he understands the life-changing possibilities higher education can provide, and that he believes community colleges are “special places where opportunity and hope meet.”