Open Pathway

As of September 1, 2018 Jackson College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) under the Open Pathway.  The Open Pathway follows a 10-year cycle and like all pathways is focused on quality assurance and institutional improvement.

Jackson College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (, a regional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. 230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, IL 60604-1411. Phone: (800) 621-7440.

Program Accreditation

The following occupational programs are accredited, licensed or regulated by the association, agency or governmental agency identified.

Program Agency Date of Next Review
Aviation Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), Part 61
Cardiac Sonography Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Educational Programs 2023
Corrections Michigan Corrections Officers’ Training Council, Michigan Department of Corrections
Dental Hygiene American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation 2021
General Sonography Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Educational Programs 2028
Practical Nursing Michigan Board of Nursing 2022
Respiratory Care Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC) 2029
Radiography Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) 2022
Registered Nurse (A.D.N.) Michigan Board of Nursing 2026
Vascular Sonography Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Educational Programs 2023

Accreditation Committee

The purpose of the Accreditation Committee is to work to ensure the College is fulfilling accreditation requirements as outlined by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) to fulfill the 10 year Open Pathway cycle.

Accreditation Committee Charter

Accreditation Committee Members: Jennifer Adams, Jennifer Dobbs, Joyce Dunbar, Marianne Finch, Shannon Fischer, Marilynn Fryer, Jessica Houston, Tom Largent, Jamie Morris, Jessie Parson and Ashely Vanheest.  Chairs are Sara Perkin, Dr. Stephen Young and Debbie Schissler.

JC’s Systems Portfolio is a report to AQIP that provides evidence of JC’s progress within each AQIP category. The document is structured according to the chart below, providing the context, processes, results, and improvements for each category. AQIP provides JC with the Systems Appraisal Feedback in response to the Systems Portfolio.

Systems Portfolio Systems Appraisal Feedback
Systems Portfolio 2014 Systems Appraisal Feedback 2014
Systems Portfolio 2010 Systems Appraisal Feedback 2010
Systems Portfolio 2006 Systems Appraisal Feedback 2006